Jan 12 – Ninth Convocation observed at Prashanti Kutiram



Dr.H.R.Nagendra, Vice Chancellor welcoming the Chief Guest Dr.S.C.Sharma, Vice Chancellor, Tumkur University and other Guest
Dr.H.R.Nagendra, Vice Chancellor welcoming the Chief Guest Dr.S.C.Sharma, Vice Chancellor, Tumkur University and other Guest

Ninth Convocation of S-VYASA, Yoga University was held on 12th January, 2012.  This day is the birth anniversary of the Patriot Saint Swami Vivekananda and also the National Youth Day.

S-VYASA  (Declared as Deemed-to-be University under Section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956) a World Class Yoga University’s primary objective is to make Yoga – a socially relevant science.  SVYASA’s main thrust is scientific research.  More than 180 research papers have established several beneficial applications of Yoga  in Health, Education, Management and other fields.   Yoga is an ancient science, which is helping in finding solutions to the modern day Life Style Disorders, life Diabetes, Hyper Tension, Asthama, Depression, Arthritis, Back Pain, Obesity etc.   Speed and Greed is the order of the modern times, but Yoga as a solution give peace, harmony and love.  

The Ninth Convocation was held on Thursday the 12th January, 2012 at 09.30 am at Prashanti Kutiram, Jigini – the University Campus. Dr.S.C.Sharma, Vice Chancellor, Tumkur University was the Chief Guest and has delivered the Convocation Address.  Vice-Chancellor, S-VYASA, Dr H R Nagendra welcomed the guest and students and latter gave his blessing.

Vice Chancellor in his welcome addressed highlighted the achievements of the University, specially its contribution in the field of Health and Education.

Dr.S.C.Sharma the Chief Guest has appreciated SVYASA for creating Human Resource to carry the scientific aspects of Yoga and its benefits to common man.  He also congratulated S-VYASA for its research and its applications through their University, Research Centre and the Holistic Health Home, Arogyadhama

DOCTOR OF SCIENCE (YOGA): The University Honored two great Scientists with the Doctor of Science (Yoga) – Honoris Causa to –  Dr.B.N.Gandhar, Prof. of the Advanced Centre for Yoga at NIMHANS and to Dr.Madan Mohan, Professor & Head of Dept. of Physiology, JIPMER, Pondichery.


  1. Sri Balram Pradhan
  2. Sri Itagi Ravi Kumar 
  3. Dr.John Ebnezar
  4. Sri Sanjib Kumar Patra
  5. Sri Sushil S.Khemka and
  6. Sri Tikhe Sham Ganpt

were awarded Doctor of Philosophy (Yoga) – Ph.D (Yoga) by Dr.H.R.Nagendra, Vice Chancellor and other Dignitaries on the stage.

Presentation of Graduands: Dr R Nagarathna, Dean, Division of Yoga and Life Sciences presented the Graduands to DSc, PhD, MD and MSc (Yoga) students.  Prof K Subrahmanyam, Dean, Division of Yoga and Humanities Presented Graduands to MSc (Yoga and Management), MSc (Yoga and Consciousness), MSc (Yoga Educaton) and BSc (Yoga).  Dr.Ramachandra G.Bhat, Dean, Yoga & Spirituality gave the Gurup Upadesha.

Prior to the Convocation a Sarasvati Yajna was performed by the Deans, Faculty and Students at 05.30am and the students were given Japa Upadesh at 06.15am. It was a beautiful culmination of Spirituality and Science during the early morning during the Brahma Muhurata at Prashanti Kutiram, an abode of peace and serenity.

In all 89 DEGREES / GRADUANDS will be awarded in this Convocation viz.

Doctor of Science (Yoga) TWO M.Sc. (Yoga & Management) FOUR
Ph.D (Yoga) SIX M.Sc. (Yoga & Consciousness) SEVEN
MD (Yoga & Rehabilitation) NINE M.Sc. (Yoga & Education) TWENTY
M.Sc.(Yoga) ELEVEN B.Sc. (Yoga) THIRTY


The following students were presented with special awards:       

Manonmani Rudraiah Award for the Best Thesis among PhD (Yoga) Graduates Dr John Ebnezar
Laxmi Memorial Academic Excellence Award among MD (Yoga and Rehabilitation) Graduates Dr Ashwini B C
Madan Mohan Sankhdher Memorial Academic Excellence Award among MSc (Yoga) Graduates Kum.Shalini C H
Vasishta Award for Best Dissertation among MSc (Yoga) Graduates Sri R Sendhil Kumar
Venkatanarayana Sastry Memorial Best Student Award among MSc (Yoga and Consciousness) Graduates Sri Shambhunath Bhat
Dr Dayanand Dongaonkar Memorial Best Student Award among MSc Graduates Sri Saee Sachin Bapat
Vivekananda Academic Excellence Award among BSc Graduates Sri Jai Kumar
Dr Dayanand Dongaonkar Memorial Best Student Award among BSc Graduates Sri Asharaj P