Dec 16 – Himalaya Yoga Olympiad Valedictory Programme

Delegates at HImalaya Yoga Olympiad Valedictory
Delegates at HImalaya Yoga Olympiad Valedictory

JIgani, Bengaluru, Dec. 16 – S-VYASA Yoga University, Bengaluru is organizing an International Conference on Yoga from 20th to 23rd Dec. at Prashanti Kutiram, Jigini.  As a pre-conference program – HIMALAYA – an International Yoga Olympiad is being organized from 13th to 16th Dec. 2011.  This Olympiad is organized once in two years.  450 participants in the age groups of  (i) 12 to 18 yrs. (ii) 18 to 24 yrs (iii) above 24 yrs (separate for boys and girls) demonstrated their excellent skills of performing different advance asanas, pranayama, mudras and bandhas.

Today 16 Dec. the Olympiad was concluded in a grand valedictory function. Maharashtra has was declared the Champion of Champions.  The other winners list is attachedherewith.

Champion of Champion - MAHARASHTRA State Troup
Champion of Champion – MAHARASHTRA State Troup

The winners gave a grand display of Advanced Asanas, and asanas in groups and combinations.  The audience and the dignitaries were spellbound.  Earlier to that a dance bailey was performed by a troupe Bhaskar Art Academy from Singapore.

The Chief Guest for the Valedictory Function was Prof.U.K.Sharma, Chairman, MARC Management College, Bangalore.  He told the delegates, that the concept of Yoga is very much similar to the modern day management principles.  Sri G.N.Srikantaiah, Director, AYUSH, Govt. of Karnataka was the Guest of Honour.  He appreciated the role of S-VYASA in organizing the HIMALAYA Olympiad and appreciated the participants who came  from different corners of the country.

The other guest on the occasion were – Sri Prameya Chaitanya, Vancouver, Canada; Sri Raj Natarajan, Director, Austrasia, Sydney, Australia; Prof.Rudrappa, Medical Director, Sanathana Yoga & Nature Cure Hospital, Bangalore; Sri JSD Phani, Chairman, AYURPARK Health Care Ltd., and Dr.Veerabhadrappa, Executive Officer, Zilla Panchayat, Anekal.

Dr.H.R.Nagendra, Vice Chancellor presided over the function.  He blessed the delegates and felicitated all the Chief Guest and Guest of Honour.

The program concluded with Shanti Mantra

Age group Category Winners State
10 to 14 yrs. Men & Women First Maharashtra
Second Manipur (North East)
Third Andhra Pradesh
15 to 24 yrs Men First Maharashtra
Second Uttarakhand
Third Gujrat
15 to 24 yrs Women First Orissa
Second Tamilnadu
Third Kerala
24yrs & above Men First Andhra Pradesh
Second S-VYASA
Third Manipur
24yrs & above Women First Manipur
Second S-VYASA
Third Singapore