Raja Yoga Discourses & LecturesProf K. Subramanyam 02/03/2010

This page contains content generated at SVYASA University and is proprietary. While you are allowed to use the content for your use freely, please write to us if you need further clarifications on content@svyasa.org . Feel free to write to us if you have any questions!

Date: 02.03.10
Venue: Mangal Mandir
Chanting: Raja Yoga
Chanted by: Radhika
Discourse: Raja Yoga
DiscourseBy: Dr.H.R.Nagendra,(Guruji)
Discourse by


Vice-chancellor,SVYASA, Bangalore, India


1.Suprabhatam, Sushwagatam (good morning and welcome).
2.Raja Yoga is eight limbed yoga. Those are Yama, Niyama, Asanas, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dhyana, Dharana and Samadhi.
3.First five limbs come under Bahirang Yoga.
4.Bahirang Yogas are indirect ways to control mind.
5.Non-violence, Truth, Non-stealing, Celibacy and non-accumulation are Yama (discipline).
6.Cleanliness inside or outside, contended with smile, Austerity, introspection, surrender to divinity are Niyama (principles).
7.Yogic postures are called Asanas.
8.Staying in yogic postures for a long time with body awareness gives calmness of mind.
9.Slowing down the mind by slowing down breaths is Pranayama. To attain one or two breaths per minute is goal of Pranayama.
10.Slow down the rush of senses towards objects of sense pleasure is called Pratyahara. All limbs of Raja Yoga help to attain higher level of consciousness. Let’s contemplate on these thoughts and meditate with smile.

Vice-chancellor of S-VYASA With his PhD in Mechanical Engineering, he was a NASA research assosiate and consultant at Harvard University before his interests turned to full-time involvement in human engineering and the search for ultimate Reality. His life mission is the scientific exploration of the subtle aspects of consciousness through yoga.He has 30 research papers in Engineering and 60 in Yoga.He has written more than 30 books on yoga.